Carroll County Community Foundation Announces 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient

One Carroll County student has been named a recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Carroll County Community Foundation 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Kain Myer, son of Steven and Connie Myer, will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of his choice and up to $900 per year for required books and equipment.

Kain, a Delphi Community High School student, is the vice president of student council and National Honor Society. He is a member of the tennis, baseball and basketball teams. Kain is a former member of Students 4 Progress and Club 365. He is a member of Interact, a community service group affiliated with Rotary. Kain's volunteer activities include the Indiana Bicentennial Train and the Veterans Day football game/program. As a varsity athlete, he helps out with youth baseball and basketball camps. Kain is a youth coach with the Delphi Educational Foundation and has participated in the Diamond Dash. His academic awards include the Bradshaw English Award, Calculus AB AP Math Award, Pre-Calculus DC Math Award, Geometry MA Math Award and all A honor roll. Kain was selected as a delegate for Hoosier Boys State.

He plans to attend Bulter University to study biology.

For 19 years Lilly Endowment has funded the Community Scholars program. The Carroll County Community Foundation defined the criteria based on the endowment's goal to "raise the educational attainment in Indiana." The selection criteria identified by the Foundation included academic achievement; school, community and work activities; essay; and financial need. A committee of volunteers evaluated the applications and selected the five finalists who were interviewed by the Carroll County Community Foundation board. There were 34 Carroll County students who applied for the scholarship.

The finalists' names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for the selection of recipients. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The Foundation recognized the achievements of the other four finalists with $1,000 scholarships. They are Haley Bush, from Carroll High School, daughter of Jay and Debora Bush; Rebekah Conn, from Carroll High School, daughter of John and Jana Conn; Bailey Gasser, from Delphi Community High School, daughter of John and Cassandra Gasser; and Sophia Gunther, from Delphi Community High School, daughter of James Gunther and the late Julianne Brown.

"Indiana students are fortunate to have access to the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship," said Paul Manning, chairman of the Carroll County Community Foundation Services Committee. "A full tuition scholarship offers the opportunity for students to attend the Indiana school of their choice and eases the financial burden associated with higher education. The program also highlights the role of community foundations and how they help to produce a positive change in the communities they serve."

The Carroll County Community Foundation is a not-for-profit charitable organization governed by a volunteer board of local citizens. The purpose of the Foundation is to serve the interests of donors, to make grants and to act as a catalyst around issues of community importance in Carroll County. In addition to providing community support through endowed funds, the Foundation offers such services as a free will planning guide that is designed to help individuals as they prepare to work with their estate planning advisors.  Contact the Carroll County Community Foundation at (800) 964-0508 or visit the Web site at for a free copy of the will planning guide or for more information.

Back to Top

Sign up for our E-News!