Carroll County Community Foundation Announces 2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient

March 23, 2016 -- One Carroll County student has been named a recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Carroll County Community Foundation 2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Alexa Metzger, daughter of Chris and Roxanna Metzger, will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of her choice and up to $900 per year for required books and equipment.

Alexa, a Carroll High School student, participates in a variety of activities that include National Honor Society, Key Club and Brady’s Hope. As a Cougar Paws Mentor, she is matched with an elementary student for a weekly mentoring session. Alexa also volunteered with Teen Serve during the summer.  At her church, she is a member of the worship band and the youth group. Alexa has volunteered with a local vacation bible school and a mission vacation bible school in Kentucky. She is a three-year member of the Tennis Team. Alexa’s academic honors include Carroll High School Top Scholar, Rotary Club Citizenship Award and an achievement recognition for completing a school triathlon.

She plans to attend Purdue University to study nursing.

For 18 years Lilly Endowment has funded the Community Scholars program. The Carroll County Community Foundation defined the criteria based on the endowment’s goal to “raise the educational attainment in Indiana.” The selection criteria identified by the Foundation included academic achievement; school, community and work activities; essay; and financial need. A committee of volunteers evaluated the applications and selected the five finalists who were interviewed by the Carroll County Community Foundation board. There were 10 Carroll County students who applied for the scholarship.

The finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for the selection of recipients. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The Foundation recognized the achievements of the other four finalists with $1,000 scholarships. They are Lia (Summer) Dees, from Carroll High School, daughter of Lori and Jeremy Ellis; Libby Eller, from Carroll High School, daughter of Richard and Erika Eller; Ashley Fauble, from Logansport High School, daughter of Paul and Karina Fauble; and Wyatt Lucas, from Delphi Community High School, son of Rodney and Lee Lucas. 

“Lilly Endowment is working to strengthen Indiana by offering this scholarship to students in each county in the state,” said Paul Manning, chairman of the Carroll County Community Foundation Services Committee.  “The scholarship offers the opportunity for students to excel in their studies without the financial burden that can come with higher education. It also enhances the awareness of the work of community foundations in local communities as they strive to produce a positive and sustainable change in the communities they serve.”

The Carroll County Community Foundation was established in 1997 as a not-for-profit charitable organization governed by a volunteer board of local citizens.  Its purpose is to serve the interests of donors, to make grants and to act as a catalyst around issues of community importance in Carroll County.  For details about making a charitable gift or establishing a permanent endowment fund to benefit a charitable organization or interest in Carroll County, contact the Carroll County Community Foundation.

Back to TopBack To Top

Sign up for our E-News!